Witness

http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/education/u-va-campus-addresses-sexual-assault-allegations-in-rolling-stone-article/2014/11/21/b8f87f9e-71bf-11e4-893f-86bd390a3340_story.html?tid=hpModule_13097a0c-868e-11e2-9d71-f0feafdd1394

UVA Rape Case: The story has been controversial because of the many ambiguities. The case also calls into question fraternity/sorority actions, and administrative response. Personally this case is interesting and relevant to me because I am a part of Greek life, and our philanthropy is to combat violence against women. I am personally impacted by the story because as a woman on a college campus, I have experienced rape culture, and the different scenarios in which women are forced into, and the aftermath of actual date rape instances.

The pattern I would like to address specifically with rape cases is public response, especially responses that blame he victim. I believe that the responses provide a stronger picture about rape culture, and why the issue of rape culture continues to exist.

Leave a comment