Popcycle

Autobiography: I first learned what the word rapist meant in elementary school when the news told a story of a sex offender in the area. Although I did not learn the specifics of the term, however I was informed that I should take precautions. I should be careful. I shouldn’t walk alone. I should be on alert.

As the daughter of a martial arts family, I was constantly told that all girls should learn self-defense. I was also used as an example to other young girls. “All girls need to learn self-defense.” This is how I was raised, and this is what I truly believed was right.

Discipline: I first entered college and joined Sigma Psi Zeta Multicultural Sorority. I was introduced to our philanthropy to combat violence against women. We had a speaker on rape culture, and I was first introduced to rape culture. The professor went over the different ways that our culture fosters rape and blames the victim. I continued to learn and become educated through my peers and professors the complexities of rape and rape culture.

Community: http://thinkprogress.org/health/2013/07/19/2327351/cu-boulder-federal-investigation-rape/ This story came along and I was disgusted by public response and administrative action. Discussions in class demonstrated the many views of my peers including those who believed “what did she think was going to happen?”

Media: http://www.vevo.com/watch/robin-thicke/Blurred-Lines-(Unrated-Version)/USUV71300526

Video and song was controversial because it blatantly discusses rape and the ambiguities surrounding rape. The video further demonstrated the perpetuation of rape in pop culture.

Leave a comment